Top loop – Crosspool to Crosspool

A circular walk, starting and ending in Crosspool, Sheffield, this is how Challenge4charity will start and end.

I actually started and ended at the Norfolk Arms because there’s a lot of free parking and it’s closer to me than Crosspool is. That meant I started on the old roman road, down to Fox House and then back up again. Pretty simple nav on this one, apart from:

  • the weird not obvious bit from mile 2 to 4. That featured very thin slippy rock paths with a sheer drop. Also, the nav wasn’t super straightforward and we ended up going back and forth a couple of times here, oddly. Thankfully it’ll be in the light not dark.
  • Also, making your way through the school in Crosspool. Not sure how that one actually works as I couldn’t find the path suggested so had to make my way through it any way I could. It may well be easier on the way back (remember, I did it backward)

Crosspool itself has a few shops, a Tesco express and a pub. Obviously none of those will be open at 3am when you come rolling in!

The last picture is of the field climbing up to Norfolk House (we’ll be doing it going down, in the dark). Might be a bit muddy on the day but didn’t see any cattle/sheep specifically there to churn the ground.

crosspool loop

There are the odd bits of climbs here.

crosspoollong

Leave a comment